Rich in Mercy.

As I sit here reflecting on God’s grace and mercy I am blown away. I go to shake my head in disbelief at the thought that He would love a repeated sinner like me… but He does, and my head must stop its shaking and believe.

This week I was able to share my story of God’s grace in my life these past 21 years. In brief: He saved me from hell, but He went beyond that act of love to save me from myself. At 312076_429878070386768_1119691228_none point I chose a path for my life that was a fool’s path – one of heartache, depression, broken promises, deceit, and false dreams. It was even leading me to physical death. But God, who is rich in mercy, reached down into my tiny life and saved me. He wrapped His loving arm around my gasping heart and calmed it. Thank you Jesus!

So now my life is His – I am His servant. But oh how I’m struck with memory after memory of myself carrying the title of “servant of the Most High,” while I am truly serving myself. I relate to the nation Israel deeply. In Scripture I read of their relationship with God – He touched their affliction and brought them to the promised land, they praised Him and made covenants with Him, they became content, they forgot Him, they were punished, they cried to God to save them from their affliction, He brought them to the promised land…….. and it went on and on!……. I used to mock, but now my heart weeps. I do this. Why do I do this?

Today I am broken and praising God who is rich in mercy! His love overflows for His children. He does not break His promises. He is faithful. So, I pray for a servant’s heart. I pray for a mind that will never forget who God is and what He’s done – to never forget Jesus’ sacrifice on the cross. Indeed I have come to a conclusion as to why mankind repeats Israel’s cycle. I’ve seen that it is when I forget who my God is that I return to that awful path of sin and death.

So, Who is God? He is…

The LORD, the compassionate and gracious God, slow to anger, abounding in love and faithfulness, maintaining love to thousands, and forgiving wickedness, rebellion and sin. Yet he does not leave the guilty unpunished…
(Exodus 34:5-7)

Does not change His mind or lie like men
(Numbers 23:19)

One God
(Deuteronomy 6:4-5)

Mighty and awesome
(Deuteronomy 10:17)

Fights for His children
(Joshua 23:3)

Empowers His children
(2 Samuel 22:32-34)

Holy and Most High
(Psalms 46:4-5)

Pouring out His love on us
(Romans 5:5)

Order and Peace
(I Cor. 14:3)

That’s only a miniature taste. Discover His true nature for yourself! Look in the Bible; don’t just believe what a human says, don’t just trust what I say, look for what He says. “Taste and SEE that the Lord is good” (Psalm 34:8). Because when you make the effort to taste, you will see.

I will praise the LORD at all times; his praise will always be on my lips.
(Psalm 34:1)

 


This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

4 Responses to Rich in Mercy.

  1. Christine says:

  2. Reblogged this on boswelling and commented:
    A wonderful post from my cousin.

  3. Aunt chris says:

    NICE, Rebekah!! ❤

  4. HInssen says:

    Sweeter than honey from the honeycomb!

Leave a Reply

